La oscuridad de la noche

La gente siempre dice que nunca bueno puede ocurrir por la noche. Me permito disentir. La oscuridad de la noche siempre permitirá brillar las luces más brillantes.

 

 

Last night, Drew, Lydia and I decided to go for a nice night walk (and by night I mean 11 PM). We ended up walking about 30 minutes outside of Toledo so that we could hike up the side of a mountain to a place called La Piedra. It was a great form of exercise, but more than that, it was one of the most tranquil and peaceful experiences I have ever had in my life. La Piedra translates to “the rock”, and that’s exactly what it is. It’s this huge rock on the top of a mountain that offers one of the best views of Toledo. However, should you turn your back to the city, you will get a view of the scenery that surrounds Toledo: green trees, plains that extend for miles, and gorgeous stone that is randomly dispersed throughout the greenery. Should one choose to lay flat on La Piedra, the clear, navy blue sky would be lit up with stars that shine as if they are angels themselves. The view of the stars was my favorite view last night, and I’ll tell you why. Last night, thunderstorms surrounded the area of Toledo, but never near where I was, and I watched as the lightning broke the sky and created a contrast with the darkness of the night and the beauty of light. As lightning was breaking the darkness, I felt an eerie sense of tranquility come upon me. I’ve always felt connected with nature, as weird as that is, but I felt as if it was my dad, showing me that he was there with me, that he was experiencing Spain with me. This belief was only strengthened when I look towards the moon and saw that one single cloud was illuminated by the light. Normally I wouldn’t have thought twice about it, but I was mesmerized because the cloud was either shaped or illuminated perfectly to mirror the ring that I wear that holds the ashes of my dad. Never before have I experienced something like this, so I want to believe it was him. I want to believe that he hasn’t left me alone in this cold, dark world. I want to believe that just as the lightning broke the darkness of the sky, his light will break the darkness of my world as a constant reminder that he is the light in my life, that this world isn’t all bad. There’s no way to ever know if it was him, but for know I am going to believe it was him because in my bones, I feel that  it had to have been him.

 

Above are the photos that actually turned out. It’s not as beautiful as it was in person, but it was hard to capture the beauty of the moment.

 

Moving on, more about what I’ve been up to since my last post! Today is Drew’s 21st birthday!! That’s actually the reason we walked up to La Piedra, he wanted to be there when the clock (Spain time) struck midnight. Tonight, we are going out to celebrate and I’m happy that I get to spend the day with him. He’s nothing short of awesome and I’m beyond happy that I’ve gotten to know him during this trip.

Other than that, my life has been quite boring recently. I went out for the USA vs Belgium game, and of course was disappointed by the outcome. The night was fun, but it would have been better if the US had pulled out a win! Besides hanging out with friends and creating life long memories, I spend most of my time doing my school work. I really want to receive A’s in all three of my classes, so I’ve been working hard on my papers and readings. In fact, I just had a test in my linguistics class, but I feel great about it. It wasn’t hard and I think I got an A. So, no worries mom, I’m not just studying the types of alcohol and party culture here (;

That’s it for now, I’ve got a paper due in four hours.

Mucho amor y abrazos,

Liz

Leave a Reply

